Cosmetology is a Diploma program offered by Tennessee College of Applied Technology - Hartsville in Hartsville, TN. The program takes 1,500 clock hours to complete, with a total tuition of $5,138.
Program Overview
About
The Cosmetology program is designed to provide students with the knowledge and practical skills necessary to prepare for the Tennessee State Board Examination and entry-level employment in the cosmetology industry. Classroom instruction and practical learning experiences are integrated throughout the program and include the care and beautification of the hair, complexion, and hands.
The course of study includes hands-on and classroom instruction in shampooing, rinsing, scalp treatments, hairstyling, hair setting and cutting, tinting, decolorizing, chemical texturing services, special-effects hair coloring, facials, manicures, hand and arm massage, bacteriology, anatomy, hygiene, sanitation, and salon management. Safety, professionalism, and customer relations are emphasized throughout the program.
Upon successful completion of the required 1,500 clock hours, students are prepared to pursue applicable Tennessee licensure examinations, subject to the requirements of the Tennessee State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners.
Admission Requirements and Process
Program-Specific Admission Requirements
Educational and admission requirements vary from program to program.
Practical Nursing
Those interested in seeking admission to the Practical Nursing Program at Tennessee College of Applied Technology Hartsville MUSTfirst successfully pass the HESI exam. The cost is $50 The test is scheduled to be given at various times.
HESI TESTING DATES:
Applicants must submit a Fall 2026 Application for the Lebanon Campus, provide passing HESI scores, and complete the necessary documentation in the PN packet.
Appllicants must submit a Spring 2027 Application for the Hartsville Campus, provide passing HESI scores, and complete the necessary documentation in the PN packet.
General Requirements
- Program enrollment is based on a first-come, first-served basis by date of completed application. (A completed application includes all items required for enrollment.)
- Persons seeking admission to a college must be at least 18 years of age or have a high school diploma or equivalent. For full-time programs, the applicant must declare an…
- All persons who are required to register for the Federal Draft under 50 U.S.C. App. Section 453 are not eligible to enroll in any post-secondary school until they have registered…
Application Process
- 1Submit ApplicationComplete the online application form with your personal information and educational background.
- 2Submit TranscriptsProvide official high school transcripts or GED certificate. Some programs may require additional documentation.
- 3Financial AidComplete the FAFSA to determine eligibility for federal financial aid. Meet with a financial aid advisor to review your options.Complete FAFSA Application
- 4EnrollmentOnce accepted, complete enrollment paperwork, register for classes, and attend orientation.
School Information
Campus Location
Why Accreditation Is Important
- A reliable indicator of quality
- Approved program of study
- Qualified instructors
- Recognition by employers nationwide
Accreditations
Student Demographics
These are demographics for all students at the Main Campus (IPEDS, 2024).
Percentages are of total fall enrollment. 10 students whose race or ethnicity was not reported are included in that total but shown as no category, so the figures above come to 99% rather than 100%.
Cost of Attendance and Financial Aid Information
The tuition rates table below includes only tuition and fees for the Tennessee College of Applied Technology (TCAT) day programs.
Note: Most Tennessee residents age 18 or older are eligible for up to $2,000 each year through the Tennessee Education Lottery Scholarship Program if they are enrolled full-time at a Tennessee College of Applied Technology. Visit the Financial Aid page for more information.
Tennessee College of Applied Technology Fee Schedule*
| Trimester Hours | Maintenance Fee | Student Access Fee | Technology Access Fee | Trimester Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1-40 | $225 | $10 | $52 | $287 |
| 41-80 | $304 | $10 | $52 | $366 |
| 81-135 | $459 | $10 | $52 | $521 |
| 136-217 | $800 | $10 | $85 | $895 |
| 218-340 | $1293 | $10 | $85 | $1388 |
| 341-432 | $1446 | $10 | $85 | $1541 |
Special Academic Fees
| Program | Cost Per Trimester |
|---|---|
| Certified Nursing Assistant | $75 |
| Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning and Refrigeration | $100 |
| Practical Nursing | $100 |
| Truck Driving | $300 |
| Welding Technology | $100 |
Cost per Contact Hour (for DoD Memorandum of Understanding purposes only): $3.35
Tennessee Colleges of Applied Technology that participate in the DoD Memorandum of Understanding may accept Federal Tuition Assistance for qualified applicants.
Curriculum
About
The course of study includes hands-on and classroom instruction in shampooing, rinsing, scalp treatments, hairstyling, hair setting and cutting, tinting, decolorizing, chemical texturing services, special-effects hair coloring, facials, manicures, hand and arm massage, bacteriology, anatomy, hygiene, sanitation, and salon management. Safety, professionalism, and customer relations are emphasized throughout the program.
Required Courses
| Subject # | Name |
|---|---|
| COS 0001 | Worker Characteristic |
| COS 1010 | Orientation |
| COS 1020 | Sterilization, Bacteriology |
| COS 1030 | Anatomy and Physiology |
| COS 1040 | Shop Ethics and Salesmanship |
| COS 1050 | State Law |
| COS 1060 | Tech Foundations |
| COS 1070 | Shampooing and Rinsing |
| COS 1080 | Hair and Scalp Care |
| COS 1090 | Hair Shaping |
| COS 1100 | Hairstyling |
| COS 1110 | Facials |
| COS 1120 | Manicuring and Pedicuring |
| COS 1130 | Permanent Waving |
| COS 1140 | Hair Structure and Chemistry |
| COS 0002 | Worker Characteristic |
| COS 2010 | Sterilization, Bacteriology II |
| COS 2020 | Anatomy and Physiology II |
| COS 2030 | Shop Ethics & Salesmanship II |
| COS 2040 | Shampooing and Rinsing II |
| COS 2050 | Hair and Scalp Care II |
| COS 2060 | Hair Shaping II |
| COS 2070 | Hairstyling II |
| COS 2080 | Facials and Eyebrows |
| COS 2090 | Manicuring and Pedicuring II |
| COS 2100 | Permanent Waves II |
| COS 2110 | Hair Relaxers |
| COS 2120 | Hair Color and Lightening |
| COS 2130 | Hair Structure & Chemistry II |
| COS 0003 | Worker Characteristic |
| COS 3100 | Sculptured Nails |
| COS 3010 | Sterilization Bacteriology III |
| COS 3020 | Anatomy and Physiology III |
| COS 3030 | Shop Ethics & Salesmanship III |
| COS 3040 | Hair Shaping III |
| COS 3050 | Hairstyling III |
| COS 3060 | Facials and Eyebrows II |
| COS 3070 | Permanent Waves III |
| COS 3080 | Hair Relaxers II |
| COS 3090 | Hair color and Lightening III |
| COS 0004 | Worker Characteristic |
| COS 4010 | Sterilization, Bacteriology IV |
| COS 4020 | Shop Ethics & Salesmanship IV |
| COS 4030 | State Law II |
| COS 4040 | Hair Shaping IV |
| COS 4050 | Hairstyling IV |
| COS 4060 | Permanent Waving IV |
| COS 4070 | Hair Relaxers III |
| COS 4080 | Hair Color and Lightening IV |
| THRT 26 | 27 COS Program Cost Sheet.pdf |
| Totals |

Videos
Frequently Asked Questions
School Information
Campus Location
Why Accreditation Is Important
- A reliable indicator of quality
- Approved program of study
- Qualified instructors
- Recognition by employers nationwide
Accreditations
Student Demographics
These are demographics for all students at the Main Campus (IPEDS, 2024).
Percentages are of total fall enrollment. 10 students whose race or ethnicity was not reported are included in that total but shown as no category, so the figures above come to 99% rather than 100%.










