Certified Medical Assistant to Practical Nursing Bridge is a Diploma program offered by Tennessee College of Applied Technology - Nashville in Nashville, TN. Tuition is $4,656 total.
Program Overview
CMA to LPN Bridge next class September 2027
The Certified Medical Assistant (CMA) to Practical Nursing Bridge Program is an 16-month diploma program that combines classroom instruction, laboratory training, and clinical experience. This comprehensive approach prepares students for the diverse roles and responsibilities of today’s practical nurse.
Admission Requirements and Process
Program-Specific Admission Requirements
Educational and admission requirements vary from program to program.
Certified Medical Assistant to Practical Nursing Bridge
To apply for the Certified Medical Assistant Practical Nursing program, applicants must meet all general admissions requirements, specific requirements (including but not limited to a regular high school diploma or equivalent, being at least 18 years of age, passing the HESI Entrance Exam, being a licensed Certified Medical Assistant from an accredited instiution), and any documents for points by the published deadline to be considered for the class. Acceptance is competitive and is based on a point system. Completion of admission requirements does not guarantee acceptance into the program.
Aviation Maintenance Technology
All new students must pass the Pre-Assessment Exam in the WIN Career Readiness System before being put on the waiting list for Aviation Maintenance Technology.
Aesthetics Technology
Ten high school credits or GED score of 450.
Acceptance is based on first-come, first-serve.
Instruction in the Dental Lab Technology program is individualized. A student may enroll when a vacancy occurs and exits the program when the desired proficiency level has been attained. Acceptance is based on first-come, first-serve.
Dental Assisting
How to Apply for the Dental Assisting Program
Apply for TCAT Nashville - https://tcatnashville.edu/future-students/admissions
The following will be required for enrollment into the program:
Complete on-line application to the school.
Proof of Education: Submit one of the following:
High School Transcript - Min 2.0 GPA
College Transcript
GED Certificate/Scores
ACT Score of 17 or better OR a Level 3 score for the on-campus WIN Learning Test
Dental Assisting Packet (Instrutor will provide packet after application is completed)
The clinical time is about 1.5 months.
Class Schedule
Class meets Monday through Thursday from 7:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m., while in class. Clinical will begin in the 2nd trimester of the program. Clinical hours vary based on the site you will be attending. Clinical hours are subject to change, clinical is mandatory to complete the program.
Cost of Training
For the costs of the Dental Assisting Program, please refer to the expense sheet available on the school website. The costs include tuition, textbooks, supplies, and tools required for the program.
General Requirements
- Program enrollment is based on a first-come, first-served basis by date of completed application. (A completed application includes all items required for enrollment.)
- Persons seeking admission to a college must be at least 18 years of age or have a high school diploma or equivalent. For full-time programs, the applicant must declare an…
- All persons who are required to register for the Federal Draft under 50 U.S.C. App. Section 453 are not eligible to enroll in any post-secondary school until they have registered…
Application Process
- 1Class ScheduleClass meets Monday through Thursday from 7:00 am to 3:00 p.m.
- 2Cost of TrainingFor the costs of the Dental Lab Technology program, please refer to the expense sheet available on the school website. The costs include tuition, textbooks, supplies, and tools required for the program. NOTE: Textbooks and uniforms are required the first day of class. The Instructor will provide a supply list on the first day of class. The student is responsible for purchasing supplies needed for the program. Vijay Ramcharan, Dental Lab Instructor ------- (615) 425-5566
School Information
Campus Location
Why Accreditation Is Important
- A reliable indicator of quality
- Approved program of study
- Qualified instructors
- Recognition by employers nationwide
Accreditations
Student Demographics
These are demographics for all students at the Main Campus (IPEDS, 2024).
Percentages are of total fall enrollment. 54 students whose race or ethnicity was not reported are included in that total but shown as no category, so the figures above come to 95.1% rather than 100%.
Cost of Attendance and Financial Aid Information
The tuition rates table below includes only tuition and fees for the Tennessee College of Applied Technology (TCAT) day programs.
Note: Most Tennessee residents age 18 or older are eligible for up to $2,000 each year through the Tennessee Education Lottery Scholarship Program if they are enrolled full-time at a Tennessee College of Applied Technology. Visit the Financial Aid page for more information.
Tennessee College of Applied Technology Fee Schedule*
| Trimester Hours | Maintenance Fee | Student Access Fee | Technology Access Fee | Trimester Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1-40 | $225 | $10 | $52 | $287 |
| 41-80 | $304 | $10 | $52 | $366 |
| 81-135 | $459 | $10 | $52 | $521 |
| 136-217 | $800 | $10 | $85 | $895 |
| 218-340 | $1293 | $10 | $85 | $1388 |
| 341-432 | $1446 | $10 | $85 | $1541 |
Special Academic Fees
| Program | Cost Per Trimester |
|---|---|
| Diesel Powered Equipment | $50 |
| Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning and Refrigeration | $100 |
| Practical Nursing | $100 |
| Residential/Commercial/Industrial Electricity | $100 |
| Welding Technology | $100 |
Cost per Contact Hour (for DoD Memorandum of Understanding purposes only): $3.35
Tennessee Colleges of Applied Technology that participate in the DoD Memorandum of Understanding may accept Federal Tuition Assistance for qualified applicants.
Curriculum
Required Courses
| Subject # | Name |
|---|---|
| COE 2020 | 2021 Information |
| MPN 0001 | Worker Characteristics |
| MPN 1010 | Basic Nursing Principles for CMA |
| MPN 1020 | Fundamentals of Nursing for CMA |
| MPN 1030 | Administration of Medications and Basic IV |
| MPN 1040 | Clinical I for CMA |
| MPN 0002 | Worker Characteristics |
| MPN 2010 | Pharmacology I for CMA |
| MPN 2020 | Mental Health for CMA |
| MPN 2030 | Medical and Surgical Nursing I for CMA |
| MPN 2040 | Maternity Health for CMA |
| MPN 2050 | Clinical II for CMA |
| MPN 0003 | Worker Characteristics |
| MPN 3010 | Clinical III for CMA |
| MPN 3020 | Advanced Professional Vocational Relations for CMA |
| MPN 3030 | Pediatric Nursing for CMA |
| MPN 3040 | Pharmacology II for CMA |
| MPN 3050 | Medical and Surgical Nursing II for CMA |
| Totals |
What to expect as a Tennessee College of Applied Technology - Nashville student
Students must pass the Anatomy & Physiology prerequisite course, which earns 96 clock hours of credit toward the program.
This program is designed as a part-time evening and weekend option to accommodate working professionals. Classes are held on Mondays, Tuesdays, and Thursdays from 5:00 p.m. to 9:30 p.m., with alternating Fridays and Saturdays from 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Videos
Frequently Asked Questions
School Information
Campus Location
Why Accreditation Is Important
- A reliable indicator of quality
- Approved program of study
- Qualified instructors
- Recognition by employers nationwide
Accreditations
Student Demographics
These are demographics for all students at the Main Campus (IPEDS, 2024).
Percentages are of total fall enrollment. 54 students whose race or ethnicity was not reported are included in that total but shown as no category, so the figures above come to 95.1% rather than 100%.










