Central Penn College

Bookkeeping

Summerdale Campus
Enola, PA
Certificate · 100% Online
Bookkeeping
Central Penn College is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE).
Offered 100% online through Central Penn College, based in Enola, PA.
Tuition is $525 per credit hour; a $510 student/technology fee applies each term for students taking 5 or more credits.
This program takes about 9 months (three consecutive terms) to complete.
No application fee is charged; accepted students pay a $100 registration fee to reserve a seat in the entering class.
Contact the school for financial aid details for this program.

Bookkeeping is a Certificate program (100% Online) offered by Central Penn College in Enola, PA. The program takes 9 months to complete, with a total tuition of $525.

Program Overview

Are you good with numbers? Are you detail-oriented? A bookkeeping certificate might be for you. Bookkeepers play a key role in the financial management of a successful company. They manage payroll, monitor expenses, and revenue, and help balance the books. Bookkeeping jobs can be found in almost all industries, ranging from large corporations to small family-owned businesses.

The Bookkeeping certificate program will teach you how to.

  • Produce financial reports.
  • Track company expenses and revenue.
  • Use accounting software to calculate and analyze information.
  • Check figures, postings and documents for mathematical accuracy and proper codes.
  • Comply with federal, state and local policies, procedures and regulations.

Admission Requirements and Process

To be considered for admission into a degree or professional certificate program, students must be a high school graduate or have received a General Equivalency Diploma (GED), Pennsylvania Home School Diploma or other recognized equivalency diploma. High School Students applying with an overall GPA of 2.0 or higher may be considered for regular admission. Students applying with a GPA below a 2.0 in high school or from another college or university, if accepted, will be admitted conditionally. Please submit an application for admission and a copy of high school and/or college transcript(s). Some applicants may be required to attend a personal interview with the Admissions Office.

An admission essay may be deemed optional for all applicants whose GPA meets or exceeds the minimum for acceptance into the desired program. For certificates and degrees in the Schools of Humanities and Business, the minimum GPA for acceptance is 2.0. For most Health Sciences certificates and degrees, unless otherwise specified, the minimum GPA is 2.2.

In order to be successful in an online environment, students must have consistent and reliable access to a computer and reliable internet connection. Students are permitted to enroll in completely online degree programs during the program's scheduled enrollment availability.

General Requirements

  • High school diploma or equivalent
    Applicants must be a high school graduate or have received a GED, Pennsylvania Home School Diploma or other recognized equivalency diploma.
  • Proof of eligibility
    All applicants must provide proof of eligibility through an official high school diploma, transcripts, a GED, a home-schooling certificate, a PA home school diploma, or an…
  • Minimum GPA
    High school students applying with an overall GPA of 2.0 or higher may be considered for regular admission; applicants below 2.0, if accepted, are admitted conditionally.
  • Official transcripts
    Students must request their high school guidance office to send an official transcript directly to the Admissions Office.
  • Computer and internet access
    Online students must have consistent and reliable access to a computer and a reliable internet connection.

Application Process

  1. 1
    Apply online for free
    The application is available on the College’s website at centralpenn.edu/apply; the online application is 100% free and can be completed in minutes.
  2. 2
    Send your transcripts
    Request that your high school guidance office send an official transcript directly to the Admissions Office; a GED or Pennsylvania Home School Diploma is also acceptable.
  3. 3
    Essay and interview
    Admission consideration is based upon a written essay (optional for GPAs at or above the program minimum), high school or college grade performance, and a personal interview.
  4. 4
    Receive your decision
    Application and transcripts are reviewed as soon as they are received; students are notified of acceptance or next steps within one week of the College receiving all materials.
  5. 5
    Reserve your seat
    Within 30 days of receiving the registration fee notice, a $100 registration fee is paid to reserve a position in the entering class; a deposit may be required to hold your enrollment slot.
  6. 6
    Apply for financial aid
    Complete the FAFSA (Central Penn’s school code is 004890); the Financial Aid Office recommends filing by March 1 of each filing year.
    FAFSA Code for Summerdale Campus: 004890
    Complete FAFSA Application

Program Schedule

Online courses follow the College's year-round schedule of quarterly, 11-week terms. Students need reliable access to the internet and a computer capable of running current software; access to speakers, a microphone, webcam, printer, and scanner may be necessary for online courses.

The catalog does not list start terms for this certificate; contact Admissions for the next start.

Cost of Attendance and Financial Aid Information

Cost and Financial Aid Information is an estimate for general reference only. It is not an offer or guarantee of financial aid or of any price, and what a School charges you may differ.
Total Program Tuition
≈ $525
FAFSA Code
Net Price Calculator

Tuition and fees. Undergraduate tuition is $525 per credit for all majors. A Student/Technology Fee of $510 per term (5 or more credits) or $315 (4 or fewer credits) is required. A one-time $150 graduation fee applies.

Books and other expenses. Variable expenses per term (estimates): textbooks $350–$450; course material fees approximately $50–$150 per course; personal $150–$250; transportation $150–$300.

Financial aid. The catalog does not state whether this certificate is an eligible program for federal financial aid; contact the Financial Aid Office (financialaid@centralpenn.edu, 1-800-759-2727). To receive financial aid a student must be enrolled in an eligible degree or certificate program and be enrolled on at least a half-time basis (4 credits). Central Penn’s FAFSA school code is 004890.

Payment options. Tuition and expenses are paid each term approximately three weeks before the term starts. Central Penn has a short-term three-month payment plan through CASHNet that divides the balance of the tuition owed by three payments; there is a $35 non-refundable application fee paid with the first payment. An Employer Reimbursement Tuition Agreement Plan lets students who receive tuition reimbursement from their employer defer payment until the specified dates.

Military benefits. Military benefits accepted include the Montgomery GI Bill® (Chapters 30 and 1606), Veterans Readiness and Employment (Chapter 31), the Post-9/11 GI Bill® (Chapter 33) and Yellow Ribbon Program, Dependents’ Education Assistance (Chapter 35) and Tuition Assistance.

Net price calculator. Use Central Penn’s Net Price Calculator at https://npc.collegeboard.org/app/centralpenn for an early estimate of your total annual cost.

Curriculum

The website lists an 18-credit, 9-month program with the courses below; the Bookkeeping Certificate does not appear in the 2026-27 catalog, so course codes and descriptions are taken from the catalog course listings.

Required Courses

Subject #NameCredits
MTH105College Algebra3
ACC100Accounting I3
ACC110Accounting II3
ACC200Managerial Accounting3
ACC210Data Management Applications3
TEC103Survey of Windows3

Career Outcomes

Careers you can pursue. Bookkeeper, Accounting Clerk, Auditing Clerk, Payroll Specialist, Accounting Associate / Specialist, Accounting Technician, Accounts Payable Specialist / Clerk, Accounts Receivable Clerk.

College-wide outcome. 89.2% of Central Penn graduates were employed in their chosen field or continuing their education within one year of graduation (graduates July 1, 2024 – June 30, 2025; One-Year Graduate Follow-up Report published July 1, 2026).

Campus Address

Summerdale Campus
600 Valley Road
Enola, PA 17025

Why Accreditation Is Important

Central Penn College is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE); status: Accreditation Reaffirmed (June 25, 2026). The Pennsylvania Secretary of Education authorizes the College to award its MPS, BS, AS and AAS degrees.

  • A reliable indicator of quality
  • Approved program of study
  • Qualified instructors
  • Recognition by employers nationwide

Accreditations

MSCHE

Student Demographics

These are demographics for all students at the Summerdale Campus (IPEDS, 2024).

Gender Distribution
Women65.8%(450)
Men34.2%(234)
Race/Ethnicity Distribution
Primary Ethnic Group
White
55.1% · 377 students
White55.1% · 377
Black/African American17.7% · 121
Hispanic/Latino9.9% · 68
Two or More Races5.3% · 36
International Students4.4% · 30
Asian3.1% · 21
American Indian/Alaska Native0.7% · 5
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0% · 0

Percentages are of total fall enrollment. 26 students whose race or ethnicity was not reported are included in that total but shown as no category, so the figures above come to 96.2% rather than 100%.

Videos

Ready to get started?
Request information about Bookkeeping at Summerdale Campus.
Bookkeeping