Customer Relation Skills for the Insurance Industry is a Certificate program (100% Online) offered by Central Penn College in Enola, PA. The program takes 9 months to complete, with a total tuition of $525.
Program Overview
The Customer Relation Skills for the Insurance Industry Certificate program prepares students to successfully earn their Pennsylvania insurance license and begin working as an insurance agent or broker. Students completing this certificate will have the opportunity to obtain knowledge in the core areas of communications, sales, accounting, marketing, business law, and insurance. The objective of the Customer Relation Skills for the Insurance Industry Certificate program is to provide students with the knowledge and skills to start or continue a successful career in the field of Insurance or to transfer to another degree to include Entrepreneurship and Small Business Management, Communications or Business.
Program learning objectives.
- Demonstrate an understanding of risk management and insurance to include the types of insurance available, areas of risk covered by each, and their legal implications.
- Explain the importance of earning trust, communicating effectively, creating value proposals, and building customer relationships in order to utilize customer relationship management in successful selling.
- Explain the communication process, including listening skills, nonverbal cues, and barriers to communication.
Admission Requirements and Process
To be considered for admission into a degree or professional certificate program, students must be a high school graduate or have received a General Equivalency Diploma (GED), Pennsylvania Home School Diploma or other recognized equivalency diploma. High School Students applying with an overall GPA of 2.0 or higher may be considered for regular admission. Students applying with a GPA below a 2.0 in high school or from another college or university, if accepted, will be admitted conditionally. Please submit an application for admission and a copy of high school and/or college transcript(s). Some applicants may be required to attend a personal interview with the Admissions Office.
An admission essay may be deemed optional for all applicants whose GPA meets or exceeds the minimum for acceptance into the desired program. For certificates and degrees in the Schools of Humanities and Business, the minimum GPA for acceptance is 2.0. For most Health Sciences certificates and degrees, unless otherwise specified, the minimum GPA is 2.2.
In order to be successful in an online environment, students must have consistent and reliable access to a computer and reliable internet connection. Students are permitted to enroll in completely online degree programs during the program's scheduled enrollment availability.
General Requirements
- High school diploma or equivalentApplicants must be a high school graduate or have received a GED, Pennsylvania Home School Diploma or other recognized equivalency diploma.
- Proof of eligibilityAll applicants must provide proof of eligibility through an official high school diploma, transcripts, a GED, a home-schooling certificate, a PA home school diploma, or an…
- Minimum GPAHigh school students applying with an overall GPA of 2.0 or higher may be considered for regular admission; applicants below 2.0, if accepted, are admitted conditionally.
- Official transcriptsStudents must request their high school guidance office to send an official transcript directly to the Admissions Office.
- Computer and internet accessOnline students must have consistent and reliable access to a computer and a reliable internet connection.
Application Process
- 1Apply online for freeThe application is available on the College’s website at centralpenn.edu/apply; the online application is 100% free and can be completed in minutes.
- 2Send your transcriptsRequest that your high school guidance office send an official transcript directly to the Admissions Office; a GED or Pennsylvania Home School Diploma is also acceptable.
- 3Essay and interviewAdmission consideration is based upon a written essay (optional for GPAs at or above the program minimum), high school or college grade performance, and a personal interview.
- 4Receive your decisionApplication and transcripts are reviewed as soon as they are received; students are notified of acceptance or next steps within one week of the College receiving all materials.
- 5Reserve your seatWithin 30 days of receiving the registration fee notice, a $100 registration fee is paid to reserve a position in the entering class; a deposit may be required to hold your enrollment slot.
- 6Apply for financial aidComplete the FAFSA (Central Penn’s school code is 004890); the Financial Aid Office recommends filing by March 1 of each filing year.FAFSA Code for Summerdale Campus: 004890Complete FAFSA Application
Program Schedule
Online courses follow the College's year-round schedule of quarterly, 11-week terms. Students need reliable access to the internet and a computer capable of running current software; access to speakers, a microphone, webcam, printer, and scanner may be necessary for online courses.
The catalog does not list start terms for this certificate; contact Admissions for the next start.
Cost of Attendance and Financial Aid Information
Tuition and fees. Undergraduate tuition is $525 per credit for all majors. A Student/Technology Fee of $510 per term (5 or more credits) or $315 (4 or fewer credits) is required. A one-time $150 graduation fee applies.
Books and other expenses. Variable expenses per term (estimates): textbooks $350–$450; course material fees approximately $50–$150 per course; personal $150–$250; transportation $150–$300.
Financial aid. The catalog does not state whether this certificate is an eligible program for federal financial aid; contact the Financial Aid Office (financialaid@centralpenn.edu, 1-800-759-2727). To receive financial aid a student must be enrolled in an eligible degree or certificate program and be enrolled on at least a half-time basis (4 credits). Central Penn’s FAFSA school code is 004890.
Payment options. Tuition and expenses are paid each term approximately three weeks before the term starts. Central Penn has a short-term three-month payment plan through CASHNet that divides the balance of the tuition owed by three payments; there is a $35 non-refundable application fee paid with the first payment. An Employer Reimbursement Tuition Agreement Plan lets students who receive tuition reimbursement from their employer defer payment until the specified dates.
Military benefits. Military benefits accepted include the Montgomery GI Bill® (Chapters 30 and 1606), Veterans Readiness and Employment (Chapter 31), the Post-9/11 GI Bill® (Chapter 33) and Yellow Ribbon Program, Dependents’ Education Assistance (Chapter 35) and Tuition Assistance.
Net price calculator. Use Central Penn’s Net Price Calculator at https://npc.collegeboard.org/app/centralpenn for an early estimate of your total annual cost.
Curriculum
Students are required to take a total of 18 credits as directed below.
Required Courses
| Subject # | Name | Credits |
|---|---|---|
Career Outcomes
Careers you can pursue. Insurance agent, Insurance broker.
College-wide outcome. 89.2% of Central Penn graduates were employed in their chosen field or continuing their education within one year of graduation (graduates July 1, 2024 – June 30, 2025; One-Year Graduate Follow-up Report published July 1, 2026).
Campus Address
Why Accreditation Is Important
Central Penn College is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE); status: Accreditation Reaffirmed (June 25, 2026). The Pennsylvania Secretary of Education authorizes the College to award its MPS, BS, AS and AAS degrees.
- A reliable indicator of quality
- Approved program of study
- Qualified instructors
- Recognition by employers nationwide
Accreditations
Student Demographics
These are demographics for all students at the Summerdale Campus (IPEDS, 2024).
Percentages are of total fall enrollment. 26 students whose race or ethnicity was not reported are included in that total but shown as no category, so the figures above come to 96.2% rather than 100%.

