Dental Assistant is a Certificate program offered by Central Penn College in Enola, PA. The program takes 9 months to complete, with a total tuition of $525.
Program Overview
The Dental Assistant Certificate prepares students in a variety of ways to become an integral member of the dental team. As the demand for Dental Assistants continues to rise, this introductory program is designed to prepare the students to perform chair-side and other related dental office and laboratory procedures. Students will participate in lab experiences, learning chair-side dental assisting, preparation, and delivery of dental materials. In addition to lab and lecture learning, students will spend a minimum of 240 hours on a clinical externship where they will be exposed to all aspects of the dental practice and receive hands-on clinical knowledge and skills. Upon completion of the program, students will be prepared to sit for the RHS and ICE exam and find employment opportunities in a variety of dental settings as a chair-side assistant. After two years of chair-side employment, students will be eligible to complete the final portion of the Certified Dental Assistant Exam, offered by the Dental Assistant National Board.
Program learning objectives.
- Practice current principles and guidelines of dental infection control, aseptic techniques, and hazard control protocols.
- Demonstrate proficiency in performing effective chair side assisting and laboratory skills in a variety of dental environments.
- Practice dental assistant procedures within the legal and ethical boundaries of the profession as set forth by the State Board of Dentistry.
- Demonstrate professional and effective communication skills, and establish working relationships with patients, employers, and colleagues.
- Prepare and manipulate dental materials and fabrications.
- Explain basic biomedical, behavioral, and material sciences in relationship to their dental assistant role.
Admission Requirements and Process
To be considered for admission into a degree or professional certificate program, students must be a high school graduate or have received a General Equivalency Diploma (GED), Pennsylvania Home School Diploma or other recognized equivalency diploma. High School Students applying with an overall GPA of 2.0 or higher may be considered for regular admission. Students applying with a GPA below a 2.0 in high school or from another college or university, if accepted, will be admitted conditionally. Please submit an application for admission and a copy of high school and/or college transcript(s). Some applicants may be required to attend a personal interview with the Admissions Office.
An admission essay may be deemed optional for all applicants whose GPA meets or exceeds the minimum for acceptance into the desired program. For certificates and degrees in the Schools of Humanities and Business, the minimum GPA for acceptance is 2.0. For most Health Sciences certificates and degrees, unless otherwise specified, the minimum GPA is 2.2.
Admission Requirements.
- High School Diploma with a minimum GPA of a 2.0 or an equivalent GED.
- Required to submit two reference forms.
- Admissions Essay
Requirements Upon Admission Acceptance.
Students should be advised that, upon admission to the Dental Assistant Certificate program, a personal and professional criminal background investigation will be required. This includes child abuse clearance, PA State Police PATCH report, and FBI fingerprinting.
General Requirements
- High school diploma or equivalentApplicants must be a high school graduate or have received a GED, Pennsylvania Home School Diploma or other recognized equivalency diploma.
- Proof of eligibilityAll applicants must provide proof of eligibility through an official high school diploma, transcripts, a GED, a home-schooling certificate, a PA home school diploma, or an…
- Minimum GPAHigh School Diploma with a minimum GPA of a 2.0 or an equivalent GED.
- Official transcriptsStudents must request their high school guidance office to send an official transcript directly to the Admissions Office.
- References and essayRequired to submit two reference forms and an admissions essay.
- Background investigationUpon admission, child abuse clearance, PA State Police PATCH report, and FBI fingerprinting are required.
- Math placementCentral Penn College administers a placement exam to all incoming students to determine placement in mathematics.
Application Process
- 1Apply online for freeThe application is available on the College’s website at centralpenn.edu/apply; the online application is 100% free and can be completed in minutes.
- 2Send your transcriptsRequest that your high school guidance office send an official transcript directly to the Admissions Office; a GED or Pennsylvania Home School Diploma is also acceptable.
- 3Essay and interviewAdmission consideration is based upon a written essay (optional for GPAs at or above the program minimum), high school or college grade performance, and a personal interview.
- 4Receive your decisionApplication and transcripts are reviewed as soon as they are received; students are notified of acceptance or next steps within one week of the College receiving all materials.
- 5Reserve your seatWithin 30 days of receiving the registration fee notice, a $100 registration fee is paid to reserve a position in the entering class; a deposit may be required to hold your enrollment slot.
- 6Apply for financial aidComplete the FAFSA (Central Penn’s school code is 004890); the Financial Aid Office recommends filing by March 1 of each filing year.FAFSA Code for Summerdale Campus: 004890Complete FAFSA Application
Program Schedule
Courses are offered at a variety of times Monday through Friday. Online classes are also available. Typical courses run for an 11-week term. The College operates on a year-round schedule of quarterly, 11-week terms enabling students to complete their degrees faster, if they choose to go full-time each term.
This program has Winter and Summer starts. Upcoming start dates: January 11, 2027, July 12, 2027, January 10, 2028.
- January 11th, 2027
- July 12th, 2027
- January 10th, 2028
Cost of Attendance and Financial Aid Information
Tuition and fees. Undergraduate tuition is $525 per credit for all majors. A Student/Technology Fee of $510 per term (5 or more credits) or $315 (4 or fewer credits) is required. A one-time $150 graduation fee applies.
Program fees. Dental Assistant Certificate lab fee, per term $250; Dental Assistant Certificate supplies (one time) $350.
Certification and other costs not covered by tuition. RHS exam $270; ICE exam $270; combined RHS and ICE $375 (subject to change; not covered by tuition).
Books and other expenses. Variable expenses per term (estimates): textbooks $350–$450; course material fees approximately $50–$150 per course; personal $150–$250; transportation $150–$300. Uniforms (where required) are estimated at $100–$150.
Housing and meals. Campus housing per term: individual private bedroom $2,205, standard apartment bedroom $1,505, super suite bedroom $1,595, utilities $330. Meal plans per term range from $550 (Block 75) to $1,125 (14 Meal Plan); a $250 housing security deposit is required.
Financial aid. The catalog does not state whether this certificate is an eligible program for federal financial aid; contact the Financial Aid Office (financialaid@centralpenn.edu, 1-800-759-2727). To receive financial aid a student must be enrolled in an eligible degree or certificate program and be enrolled on at least a half-time basis (4 credits). Central Penn’s FAFSA school code is 004890.
Payment options. Tuition and expenses are paid each term approximately three weeks before the term starts. Central Penn has a short-term three-month payment plan through CASHNet that divides the balance of the tuition owed by three payments; there is a $35 non-refundable application fee paid with the first payment. An Employer Reimbursement Tuition Agreement Plan lets students who receive tuition reimbursement from their employer defer payment until the specified dates.
Military benefits. Military benefits accepted include the Montgomery GI Bill® (Chapters 30 and 1606), Veterans Readiness and Employment (Chapter 31), the Post-9/11 GI Bill® (Chapter 33) and Yellow Ribbon Program, Dependents’ Education Assistance (Chapter 35) and Tuition Assistance.
Net price calculator. Use Central Penn’s Net Price Calculator at https://npc.collegeboard.org/app/centralpenn for an early estimate of your total annual cost.
Curriculum
Students are required to take a total of 18 credits as directed below.
Required Courses
| Subject # | Name | Credits |
|---|---|---|
Career Outcomes
Careers you can pursue. Dental Assistant.
College-wide outcome. 89.2% of Central Penn graduates were employed in their chosen field or continuing their education within one year of graduation (graduates July 1, 2024 – June 30, 2025; One-Year Graduate Follow-up Report published July 1, 2026).
Campus Address
Why Accreditation Is Important
Central Penn College is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE); status: Accreditation Reaffirmed (June 25, 2026). The Pennsylvania Secretary of Education authorizes the College to award its MPS, BS, AS and AAS degrees.
- A reliable indicator of quality
- Approved program of study
- Qualified instructors
- Recognition by employers nationwide
Accreditations
Student Demographics
These are demographics for all students at the Summerdale Campus (IPEDS, 2024).
Percentages are of total fall enrollment. 26 students whose race or ethnicity was not reported are included in that total but shown as no category, so the figures above come to 96.2% rather than 100%.
Images


