Central Penn College

Phlebotomy Technician

Summerdale Campus
Enola, PA
Certificate · Hybrid
Phlebotomy Technician
Central Penn College is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE).
Hybrid evening format at the Summerdale campus in Enola, PA.
Tuition is $525 per credit hour; a $510 student/technology fee applies each term for students taking 5 or more credits.
This program takes about 9 months (three consecutive terms) to complete.
No application fee is charged; accepted students pay a $100 registration fee to reserve a seat in the entering class.
Contact the school for financial aid details for this program.

Phlebotomy Technician is a Certificate program (Hybrid) offered by Central Penn College in Enola, PA. The program takes 9 months to complete, with a total tuition of $525.

Program Overview

The Phlebotomy Technician Certificate prepares students to take their Phlebotomy Technician Certification (CPT)* through the National Healthcare Association (NHA).

The Phlebotomy Technician Certificate is a part of the Associate in Applied Science Medical Assisting degree program. This certificate provides graduates with the clinical and administrative skills necessary to be a successful allied health care professional. The Phlebotomy Technician Certificate prepares students to work at a hospital, diagnostic laboratory, blood donor center, or private medical offices. Students in this allied health program will learn how to perform CLIA- waived laboratory tests, collect and process specimens for lab testing, and maintain medical records.

The NHA certification exam is designed to evaluate the knowledge and skills associated with the performance of tasks required for entry-level practice. A passing grade must be earned on the NHA Certified Phlebotomy Technician exam for successful completion of the certificate. Candidates who are successful in passing the certification examination will be awarded credentials indicating their certification status.

Program learning objectives.

  • Verify patient/donor identity.
  • Perform blood collection.
  • Collect, store, and process blood, urine, and other specimens for laboratory testing.
  • Perform CLIA-waived laboratory tests.
  • Develop a confident and professional image to meet the changing needs of healthcare.

What sets this Program apart

Eligible graduates of the Phlebotomy Technician Certificate program may qualify for full tuition reimbursement through a partnership between UPMC, Central Penn College, and the UPMC Pinnacle Foundation. Students hired by UPMC, based on performance during coursework, externship, and successful completion of their certification exam, will receive monthly payments toward their program costs.

Admission Requirements and Process

To be considered for admission into a degree or professional certificate program, students must be a high school graduate or have received a General Equivalency Diploma (GED), Pennsylvania Home School Diploma or other recognized equivalency diploma. High School Students applying with an overall GPA of 2.0 or higher may be considered for regular admission. Students applying with a GPA below a 2.0 in high school or from another college or university, if accepted, will be admitted conditionally. Please submit an application for admission and a copy of high school and/or college transcript(s). Some applicants may be required to attend a personal interview with the Admissions Office.

An admission essay may be deemed optional for all applicants whose GPA meets or exceeds the minimum for acceptance into the desired program. For certificates and degrees in the Schools of Humanities and Business, the minimum GPA for acceptance is 2.0. For most Health Sciences certificates and degrees, unless otherwise specified, the minimum GPA is 2.2.

Admission Requirements.

Applicants for the Phlebotomy Technician Certificate must have a minimum GPA of a 2.20 from the last school attended or have a passing GED score to be considered for acceptance. Applicants must have successfully completed two sciences (C or higher) and one math course (C or higher) in high school or college. Only Central Penn College Medical Assisting course credits may be transferred into the certification program if earned within one year of admission. In addition, applicants are required to submit two reference forms. Reference forms can be obtained through the Admissions Office. If the student does not meet these criteria, they are able to file an appeal for acceptance to the Program Director.

General Requirements

  • High school diploma or equivalent
    Applicants must be a high school graduate or have received a GED, Pennsylvania Home School Diploma or other recognized equivalency diploma.
  • Proof of eligibility
    All applicants must provide proof of eligibility through an official high school diploma, transcripts, a GED, a home-schooling certificate, a PA home school diploma, or an…
  • Minimum GPA
    Applicants must have a minimum GPA of 2.20 from the last school attended or a passing GED score, with two sciences and one math course (C or higher).
  • Official transcripts
    Students must request their high school guidance office to send an official transcript directly to the Admissions Office.
  • References
    Applicants are required to submit two reference forms, available through the Admissions Office.
  • Math placement
    Central Penn College administers a placement exam to all incoming students to determine placement in mathematics.

Application Process

  1. 1
    Apply online for free
    The application is available on the College’s website at centralpenn.edu/apply; the online application is 100% free and can be completed in minutes.
  2. 2
    Send your transcripts
    Request that your high school guidance office send an official transcript directly to the Admissions Office; a GED or Pennsylvania Home School Diploma is also acceptable.
  3. 3
    Essay and interview
    Admission consideration is based upon a written essay (optional for GPAs at or above the program minimum), high school or college grade performance, and a personal interview.
  4. 4
    Receive your decision
    Application and transcripts are reviewed as soon as they are received; students are notified of acceptance or next steps within one week of the College receiving all materials.
  5. 5
    Reserve your seat
    Within 30 days of receiving the registration fee notice, a $100 registration fee is paid to reserve a position in the entering class; a deposit may be required to hold your enrollment slot.
  6. 6
    Apply for financial aid
    Complete the FAFSA (Central Penn’s school code is 004890); the Financial Aid Office recommends filing by March 1 of each filing year.
    FAFSA Code for Summerdale Campus: 004890
    Complete FAFSA Application

Program Schedule

Offered in a hybrid evening format. ALH311 Phlebotomy Practicum is an optional 1-credit elective (40 hours at a healthcare site) taken concurrently with ALH310.

This program has Winter and Summer starts. Upcoming start dates: January 11, 2027, July 12, 2027, January 10, 2028.

New cohorts start regularly throughout the year. Our start dates are as follows:
  • January 11th, 2027
  • July 12th, 2027
  • January 10th, 2028

Cost of Attendance and Financial Aid Information

Cost and Financial Aid Information is an estimate for general reference only. It is not an offer or guarantee of financial aid or of any price, and what a School charges you may differ.
Total Program Tuition
≈ $525
FAFSA Code
Net Price Calculator

Tuition and fees. Undergraduate tuition is $525 per credit for all majors. A Student/Technology Fee of $510 per term (5 or more credits) or $315 (4 or fewer credits) is required. A one-time $150 graduation fee applies.

Program fees. Phlebotomy Technician Certificate lab fee, per term $250; NHA Phlebotomy exam fee (one time) $130.

Certification and other costs not covered by tuition. A passing grade must be earned on the NHA Certified Phlebotomy Technician exam for successful completion of the certificate; the NHA exam fee ($130) is billed by the College.

Books and other expenses. Variable expenses per term (estimates): textbooks $350–$450; course material fees approximately $50–$150 per course; personal $150–$250; transportation $150–$300. Uniforms (where required) are estimated at $100–$150.

Housing and meals. Campus housing per term: individual private bedroom $2,205, standard apartment bedroom $1,505, super suite bedroom $1,595, utilities $330. Meal plans per term range from $550 (Block 75) to $1,125 (14 Meal Plan); a $250 housing security deposit is required.

Financial aid. The catalog does not state whether this certificate is an eligible program for federal financial aid; contact the Financial Aid Office (financialaid@centralpenn.edu, 1-800-759-2727). To receive financial aid a student must be enrolled in an eligible degree or certificate program and be enrolled on at least a half-time basis (4 credits). Central Penn’s FAFSA school code is 004890.

Payment options. Tuition and expenses are paid each term approximately three weeks before the term starts. Central Penn has a short-term three-month payment plan through CASHNet that divides the balance of the tuition owed by three payments; there is a $35 non-refundable application fee paid with the first payment. An Employer Reimbursement Tuition Agreement Plan lets students who receive tuition reimbursement from their employer defer payment until the specified dates.

Military benefits. Military benefits accepted include the Montgomery GI Bill® (Chapters 30 and 1606), Veterans Readiness and Employment (Chapter 31), the Post-9/11 GI Bill® (Chapter 33) and Yellow Ribbon Program, Dependents’ Education Assistance (Chapter 35) and Tuition Assistance.

Net price calculator. Use Central Penn’s Net Price Calculator at https://npc.collegeboard.org/app/centralpenn for an early estimate of your total annual cost.

Curriculum

Students are required to take a total of 18 credits as directed below.

Required Courses

Subject #NameCredits
ALH108Medical Terminology and Pharmacology3
ALH112Essentials of Anatomy and Physiology I3
ALH122Essentials of Anatomy and Physiology II3
ALH145Allied Health Procedures3
ALH310Medical Laboratory3
ALH255Medical Law and Ethics3

Career Outcomes

Careers you can pursue. Certified Phlebotomy Technician, Certified Phlebotomist.

College-wide outcome. 89.2% of Central Penn graduates were employed in their chosen field or continuing their education within one year of graduation (graduates July 1, 2024 – June 30, 2025; One-Year Graduate Follow-up Report published July 1, 2026).

Campus Address

Summerdale Campus
600 Valley Road
Enola, PA 17025

Why Accreditation Is Important

Central Penn College is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE); status: Accreditation Reaffirmed (June 25, 2026). The Pennsylvania Secretary of Education authorizes the College to award its MPS, BS, AS and AAS degrees.

  • A reliable indicator of quality
  • Approved program of study
  • Qualified instructors
  • Recognition by employers nationwide

Accreditations

MSCHE

Student Demographics

These are demographics for all students at the Summerdale Campus (IPEDS, 2024).

Gender Distribution
Women65.8%(450)
Men34.2%(234)
Race/Ethnicity Distribution
Primary Ethnic Group
White
55.1% · 377 students
White55.1% · 377
Black/African American17.7% · 121
Hispanic/Latino9.9% · 68
Two or More Races5.3% · 36
International Students4.4% · 30
Asian3.1% · 21
American Indian/Alaska Native0.7% · 5
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander0% · 0

Percentages are of total fall enrollment. 26 students whose race or ethnicity was not reported are included in that total but shown as no category, so the figures above come to 96.2% rather than 100%.

Images

Stabler Health Sciences Building at Central Penn College

Videos

Ready to get started?
Request information about Phlebotomy Technician at Summerdale Campus.
Phlebotomy Technician