Larock Healthcare Academy

Medical Billing & Coding Specialist

Canton / Akron Academy
Canton, OH
Certificate · 100% Online
Medical Billing & Coding Specialist
Licensed and registered with the State of Ohio Board of Career Colleges and Schools (Reg. #13-07-2022T).
This program is offered fully online with no set meeting times, enrolled through the Canton / Akron Academy.
Tuition is $1,915; with the $100 enrollment fee and $750 lab fee the total program cost is $2,765 (textbook purchased separately).
This program takes about 19 weeks to complete. It is 225 clock hours.
A $100 enrollment fee is charged, due with the application.
Contact the school for financial aid details for this program.

Medical Billing & Coding Specialist is a Certificate program (100% Online) offered by Larock Healthcare Academy in Canton, OH. The program takes 19 weeks to complete, with a total tuition of $1,915.

Program Overview

The Medical Billing & Coding Specialist can find a rewarding position as a health insurance claims processor or coder in a medical office practice. The content areas include medical billing procedures, insurance claims processing, medical terminology, anatomy and physiology, CPT coding, ICD-10-CM Coding, HCPCS Level II coding, CCI edits, learning strategies and job search skills.

Medical Billing & Coding Specialists support the financial and documentation side of healthcare. They may help process insurance claims, understand medical codes, and support administrative workflow in medical office environments. Upon successful completion of this Program, students will receive a certificate of completion and will be eligible for National Certification through the National Healthcareer Association (NHA).

Larock lists this program with an online option (ONLINE - no set meeting times) alongside its on-campus day and evening sessions.

Admission Requirements and Process

Larock operates on a rolling admissions basis. Entrance requirements for Medical Billing & Coding Specialist: 18+ years of age or High School Graduate (if under 18); High School Diploma or GED (if taking NHA exam); Current, government-issued photo I.D.. Students may enroll in any program prior to the start of the first class if the class is not already full and can even begin on the second day of class, should late enrollment be approved.

General Requirements

  • Age or Education
    You must be 18 years of age or older, or a high school graduate if you are under 18.
  • High School Diploma or GED
    A high school diploma or GED is required if you plan to take the NHA certification exam.
  • Photo Identification
    You must provide a current, government-issued photo I.D.
  • Enrollment Agreement
    Before admission into a program, you are required to review and sign an Enrollment Agreement and adhere to all of its tenets.
  • Enrollment Fee
    Enrollment fees are due with the application prior to the start of class.
  • Enrollment Dates
    You may enroll before the first class begins if the class is not already full, and late enrollment on the second day of class may be approved.
  • Additional Requirements
    Student health screenings and immunizations, background checks and externship requirements not specified in the catalog or Enrollment Agreement are the student's responsibility.

Application Process

  1. 1
    Request Information
    Tell Larock which program and location you are interested in. An admissions representative can follow up with details.
  2. 2
    Review Your Options
    Compare program availability, locations, schedule options, entrance requirements, and cost information with an admissions representative.
  3. 3
    Choose Your Program
    Select the program, campus, and class option that best fits your goals and availability.
  4. 4
    Complete Enrollment
    Work with admissions to complete enrollment documents, sign your Enrollment Agreement and make any required initial payment to help secure your spot.

Program Schedule

Upcoming Medical Billing & Coding Specialist class options listed by Larock for the Canton / Akron Academy:

  • November 2, 2026 — ONLINE - no set meeting times (19 weeks)

New programs begin every month. Programs may be canceled or pushed back if class size requirements are not met. Class hours and days are subject to change.

Cost of Attendance and Financial Aid Information

Cost and Financial Aid Information is an estimate for general reference only. It is not an offer or guarantee of financial aid or of any price, and what a School charges you may differ.
Total Program Tuition
≈ $1,915
Total Program Cost
≈ $2,765

Program costs (2026-2027 catalog). Enrollment fee $100; tuition $1,915; textbook: Textbook must be purchased; lab fee $750; total cost $2,765.

Larock lists the online session at the same total cost as the on-campus sessions.

Payment methods. Payments can be mailed, phoned in, paid online, or delivered in person to Larock Healthcare Academy. Accepted methods: cash; check; money order or cashier’s check; VISA, MasterCard, Discover & American Express; Workforce Investment Act (WIA); Bureau of Vocational Rehabilitation (BVR) & Office of Vocational Rehabilitation (OVR); Military Spouse Career Advancement Account (MyCAA); and Bureau of Workers Compensation (BWC).

LHA IGNITE Scholarship. New Larock Healthcare Academy students may apply for the LHA IGNITE Scholarship, a one-time $500 tuition credit offered twice each year at the Canton, Cleveland, Columbus and Florence campuses.

Additional costs and fees. Additional costs such as student health screenings and immunizations, background checks, externship requirements and other financial obligations not specified in the catalog or Enrollment Agreement are the responsibility of the student. A $75.00 charge may apply to re-take a failed final practical exam; returned checks incur a $30.00 fee; transcripts are $6 each (plus $5 if mailed).

Refund policy. All enrollment fees, tuition and other fees paid may be refunded if the student notifies Larock in writing within five (5) calendar days of signing the Enrollment Agreement. A student who starts class and withdraws after the academic term is 40% completed will not be entitled to a refund of the tuition and fees.

Curriculum

The Medical Billing & Coding Specialist program introduces students to the systems, terminology, and coding concepts used in healthcare office support roles.

  • Medical Billing. Learn medical billing procedures and how insurance claims processing fits into the healthcare office environment.
  • Medical Coding. Study coding concepts connected to CPT, ICD-10-CM, HCPCS Level II, and CCI edits.
  • Terminology & Anatomy. Build a foundation in medical terminology, anatomy and physiology, and healthcare documentation language.
  • Job Search Skills. The program includes job search skills and Larock career assistance resources to support graduates after completion.

Program objectives. To introduce students to the medical office environment; to the basics in anatomy, physiology, medical terminology, and best practices in the health care field; to CPT, ICD-10 and HCPCS Level II Coding; to orient students to the range of CCI Edits which are vital to the profession; and to provide students with opportunities to develop basic job search skills.

Career Outcomes

Medical Billing & Coding Specialists may support healthcare offices by helping with insurance claims processing, medical coding support, patient account documentation, and administrative workflow.

Medical billing and coding skills may be useful in settings such as:

  • Medical offices and physician practices
  • Clinics and outpatient healthcare settings
  • Billing departments and revenue cycle support teams
  • Healthcare organizations that process insurance claims

Graduation and placement rates (Canton / Akron Academy, school catalog). Graduation rate: 2023 85%, 2024 92%, 2025 41%. Placement rate: 2023 80%, 2024 81%, 2025 NA.

Larock does not guarantee employment. Career assistance is provided and includes resume development, cover letter support, interview preparation, and access to a healthcare job board.

What to expect as a Larock Healthcare Academy student

The locations of Larock Healthcare Academy are commuter campuses; academy housing is not offered. Parking is offered at no additional cost for all students.

Career assistance. Larock offers a cover letter and resume development, and interview tips seminar for every program, and maintains a Job Board with employment opportunities relevant to the programs offered at Larock.

Campus Address

Canton / Akron Academy
4960 Higbee Ave NW
Suite 200
Canton, OH 44718

Why Accreditation Is Important

Larock Healthcare Academy is licensed and registered with the State of Ohio Board of Career Colleges and Schools (OBCCS) and the Kentucky Commission on Proprietary Education (KCPE). This campus: Ohio Reg. #13-07-2022T.

Registration numbers: Columbus #13-05-2018T; Middleburg Heights (Cleveland) #13-05-2019T; Canton #13-07-2022T; Florence license #KY-R-0489.

  • A reliable indicator of quality
  • Approved program of study
  • Qualified instructors
  • Recognition by employers nationwide

Accreditations

State Licensed

Images

Larock Healthcare Academy recent graduates
Larock Healthcare Academy recent graduates
Larock Healthcare Academy building

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the Medical Billing & Coding Specialist program?
The Medical Billing & Coding Specialist program is a 225-clock-hour certificate program that introduces students to medical billing procedures, insurance claims processing, medical terminology, anatomy and physiology, CPT, ICD-10-CM, HCPCS Level II, CCI edits, and job search skills.
How long is the Medical Billing & Coding Specialist program?
The Medical Billing & Coding Specialist program is 225 clock hours. Completion time depends on the class schedule selected and attendance requirements.
What does a Medical Billing & Coding Specialist learn?
Students learn medical billing procedures, insurance claims processing, medical terminology, anatomy and physiology, CPT coding, ICD-10-CM coding, HCPCS Level II coding, CCI edits, learning strategies, and job search skills.
Is the program eligible for national certification?
Upon successful completion of the program, students receive a certificate of completion and are eligible for National Certification through the National Healthcareer Association, according to the catalog.
How much does the Medical Billing & Coding program cost?
The 2026–2027 catalog lists the total Medical Billing & Coding Specialist program cost as $2,765. Costs are subject to change, and students must purchase the required textbook.
Is Medical Billing & Coding offered at Florence?
No. The 2026–2027 Larock Healthcare Academy catalog notes that Medical Billing & Coding is not offered at the Florence location. Contact admissions to confirm current location availability.
Where is the Medical Billing & Coding program offered?
Larock Healthcare Academy lists Medical Billing & Coding for its Ohio locations serving Canton / Akron, Columbus, and Cleveland. Schedule availability may vary by start date.
Does Larock Healthcare Academy help graduates find jobs?
Larock Healthcare Academy offers career assistance that may include resume development, interview preparation, cover letter support, and access to healthcare job opportunities. Employment is not guaranteed.
Ready to get started?
Request information about Medical Billing & Coding Specialist at Canton / Akron Academy.
Medical Billing & Coding Specialist