Pharmacy Technology is a Certificate program offered by West Georgia Technical College in Waco, GA.
Admission Requirements and Process
Special Considerations About Criminal History to Consider Prior to Enrollment
You must submit to the criminal background check and drug screen offered through Advantage Students ONLY, at least 45 days prior to clinical rotations. A criminal background check and a NEGATIVEurine drug screen is required to participate in any clinical rotation.
You are also required to register with the Georgia Board of Pharmacy to be issued a Pharmacy Technician license to be able to complete your clinical rotations in a pharmacy setting. This process includes a fingerprint background check. It is the law and NO exceptions will be made.
Special Considerations About Immunizations to Consider Prior to Enrollment
You must have and show proof that you are up-to-date on your immunizations. The practitioner doing the exam must complete and provide necessary proof of completion and you must submit these to the Program Director. Most immunization records can be provided by your state’s local health department. If you were not born in Georgia, you will need to contact the health department in the state that you were born in. If you have never been immunized or refuse to receive any immunizations, you may be denied a clinical rotation in an Institutional/Hospital or/and Retail pharmacy setting. Contact Program Director for additional information. You will need to provide documentation for the following immunizations:
- Childhood Immunizations
- Hepatitis B (series of 3 shots)
- Tuberculosis Skin Test (no sooner than 45 days before starting your hospital)
- Tetanus
General Requirements
- Advantage Students Criminal History Background Check & Drug Screen (clinical requirement): $78.50.
- Uniform: Royal blue scrubs with WGTC logo – up to $66 each set with embroidery; Lab Coat $35 with embroidery
- GAPS/Fieldprint Background Check: $38.25
- Georgia State Licensing Fee: $100
- Possible Immunization fees: $ 25.00 – $100.00.
- TB Skin Test: $31-$75
- PTCB or NHA Exam Fee: $129 (wrapped into tuition during semester PHAR 1055 is taken) See additional information and exam requirements here.
- Additional Clinical Rotation Fee: $50.00 (ACEMAPP).
- Additional Program Costs Total: ~ $600
- Childhood Immunizations
- Hepatitis B (series of 3 shots)
- Tuberculosis Skin Test (no sooner than 45 days before starting your hospital)
- Tetanus
Application Process
- 1Submit ApplicationComplete the online application form with your personal information and educational background.
- 2Submit TranscriptsProvide official high school transcripts or GED certificate. Some programs may require additional documentation.
- 3Financial AidComplete the FAFSA to determine eligibility for federal financial aid. Meet with a financial aid advisor to review your options.Complete FAFSA Application
- 4EnrollmentOnce accepted, complete enrollment paperwork, register for classes, and attend orientation.
School Information
Campus Location
Why Accreditation Is Important
- A reliable indicator of quality
- Approved program of study
- Qualified instructors
- Recognition by employers nationwide
Accreditations
Student Demographics
These are demographics for all students at the Murphy Campus (IPEDS, 2024).
Percentages are of total fall enrollment. 32 students whose race or ethnicity was not reported are included in that total but shown as no category, so the figures above come to 99.5% rather than 100%.
Cost of Attendance and Financial Aid Information
Tuition & Fees
Not only is West Georgia Technical College a great place to learn. It’s also a great value! We offer competitive programs at affordable prices.
How can a student verify lawful presence?
Fees are charged to cover the cost of registration and other incidental items necessary to maintain the operational activities of the college. The following fees will apply:
Application Fee
Students applying for admission must pay a one-time nonrefundable application fee of $25.
Registration Fee
All students must pay a $75 registration fee each semester.
Student Activity Fee
Students are required to pay a student activity fee of $60 each semester.
Tuition
All students will be assessed fees at the rate of $107 per credit hour for tuition for diploma and degree programs, up to a maximum of 15 credit hours per semester. Certificate fees may vary, depending on program.
Graduation Fee
All graduating students must pay a $40 graduation fee.
Student Accident Insurance Fee
Students are required to pay a student accident insurance fee of $6 each semester. All students enrolled in a credit program are covered while on campus by the student's accident insurance.
Out-of-State Tuition
Out-of-state students are charged tuition twice that charged for in-state residents. Out-of-state students pay applicable fees equal to that charged for in-state residents. Student residency is determined at initial enrollment. (Please refer to Admissions section of this catalog for definitions). Residents of Chambers, Cleburne and Randolph counties in Alabama will be considered as in-state residents for fee purposes.
International Tuition Fee
International students pay tuition four times that charged for in-state residents. Student residency is determined at initial enrollment. (Please refer to Admissions section of this catalog for definitions).
Instructional Support Fee
An instructional support fee of $60 will be charged each semester to every full-time and part-time student.
Technology Support Fee
A fee of $110 will be charged to all students each semester regardless of how many hours a student is enrolled. These funds will be used to increase instructional resources and technology.
Check Return Fee: A check return fee of $30 is charged for handling each check returned to the College.
Late Registration Fee
A fee of $45 will be charged to students registering during Late Registration.
Facilities Fee
A fee of $50 per semester will be charged to all students regardless of how many hours a student is enrolled. These funds will be used to update and maintain the facilities of the college.
Campus Safety Fee
A fee of $60 per semester will be charged to all students regardless of how many hours a student is enrolled. These funds will be used to support West Georgia Technical College's POST-Certified Police Department, consisting of full- and part-time officers, providing police protection to WGTC students, faculty, staff and facilities. Additionally, the campus safety fee is used to support training activities, acquisition and maintenance of security systems, and police equipment including but not limited to security cameras, access control and emergency broadcast systems.
Lab Fee
A fee of $40 will be charged to students for each term for the areas listed below. These funds will be used to support lab operations and supply costs.
Lab fee is assessed to the following programs:
- All programs in the School of Health Sciences.
- All programs in the School of Trade and Technology with the exception of Commercial Truck Driving and Welding.
- The programs of Early Childhood Care and Education, Cosmetology, Barbering, and Esthetician.
Fee Chart
To determine semester costs, compute the number of credit hours and consult the fee chart.
| Fee Chart | |||
| Credit Hours | Tuition | Fees | Total |
| 1 | $107 | $421 | $528 |
| 2 | $214 | $421 | $635 |
| 3 | $321 | $421 | $742 |
| 4 | $428 | $421 | $849 |
| 5 | $535 | $421 | $956 |
| 6 | $642 | $421 | $1,063 |
| 7 | $749 | $421 | $1,170 |
| 8 | $856 | $421 | $1,277 |
| 9 | $963 | $421 | $1,384 |
| 10 | $1,070 | $421 | $1,491 |
| 11 | $1,177 | $421 | $1,598 |
| 12 | $1,284 | $421 | $1,705 |
| 13 | $1,391 | $421 | $1,812 |
| 14 | $1,498 | $421 | $1,919 |
| 15 | $1,605 | $421 | $2,026 |
*Programs below have a higher rate of tuition per credit hour (plus fees)
Commercial Truck Driving - $139 per credit hour
**Fee totals are based on the following
| Activity | $60 |
| Facilities | $50 |
| Insurance | $6 |
| Registration | $75 |
| Technology Support Fee | $110 |
| Instructional Fee | $60 |
| Campus Safety Fee | $60 |
Students will not be charged the student insurance fee for each semester they are totally online.
Georgia residents 62 years of age and older may take courses at West Georgia Technical College on a space available basis free of tuition fee. Such students will be responsible for all other fees, books and supplies. Seminars and special courses are excluded.
Career Outcomes
Career Outlook
According to the Bureau of Labor and Statistics (BLS), employment of pharmacy technicians is expected to increase by 12% from 2016-2026. The BLS also suggests that pharmacy technicians with formal education or training, previous work experience, and national certification, will be specifically sought after to meet these demands. Click for more information..
What to expect as a West Georgia Technical College student
The mission of the Pharmacy Technology Program at West Georgia Technical College is to provide education opportunities to individuals that will enable them to obtain the knowledge and skills necessary to succeed in a variety of settings such as retail, hospital, and long term care. Students will receive didactic instruction and laboratory training in pharmacology, pharmaceutical calculations, ethics and laws and other fundamental concepts. Students who complete the pharmacy technology program are prepared for employment as entry-level pharmacy technicians.
By partnering with PioneerRx Pharmacy Software , our program allows students to learn in a real-world environment using the most installed software for independent pharmacies. Students enhance their clinical and functional skills by training in a pharmacy system that is innovative, robust, and feature-rich.
Spring Practicum: November 1st Summer Practicum: April 1st Fall Practicum: June 1st

Frequently Asked Questions
School Information
Campus Location
Why Accreditation Is Important
- A reliable indicator of quality
- Approved program of study
- Qualified instructors
- Recognition by employers nationwide
Accreditations
Student Demographics
These are demographics for all students at the Murphy Campus (IPEDS, 2024).
Percentages are of total fall enrollment. 32 students whose race or ethnicity was not reported are included in that total but shown as no category, so the figures above come to 99.5% rather than 100%.










